Bybit has required Standard identity verification for every product and service since 8 May 2023: a government-issued ID plus an identity assessment unlocks trading and crypto withdrawals up to 1M USDT a day, Advanced adds proof of address for 2M USDT a day, and Bybit's help center states reviews take about 15 minutes and at most 48 hours.
Key Takeaways
Standard verification has been mandatory for all Bybit products since 8 May 2023, so an unverified account cannot deposit or trade and can only close positions, repay loans and withdraw.
Standard needs an identity assessment and a physical government ID, Advanced adds a proof of address dated within three months, and Pro adds enhanced due diligence.
Daily crypto withdrawal limits are 20K USDT for legacy unverified accounts, 1M USDT at Standard, 2M USDT at Advanced or Pro and 4M USDT for business accounts, all reset at 00:00 UTC.
Bybit's help center quotes a typical review of about 15 minutes and a ceiling of 48 hours, after which you open a support case and hear back within one working day.
Restrictions are decided by nationality rather than where you live, only one account per person can hold verification, and sub-accounts cannot be verified at all.
The 2 BTC, 50 BTC and 100 BTC limits still quoted online match an older BTC-denominated schedule and do not appear anywhere on Bybit's current help center.
Search for Bybit's KYC limits and you will find three schedules that cannot all be true.
One set is denominated in BTC and claims you can trade without verifying.
Another quotes a 100,000 USD daily limit after verification.
The third, which is the only one on Bybit's own help center, quotes every limit in USDT and says no product works without Standard verification.
The confusion costs real time, because a trader who plans around a limit that no longer exists discovers the difference at the withdrawal screen.
This guide uses only Bybit's help center pages, dated 30 July and 20 August 2026, and marks each figure with the date it was checked.
Where the official pages leave a question open, we say so rather than fill the gap with a number from somewhere else.
Yes, for everything.
That Level 1 tier is now called Standard, and Bybit's Individual KYC FAQ, updated 20 August 2026, repeats the rule in the present tense: Standard verification is mandatory for all Bybit products and services.
Some regions, products or services require a higher level, and Bybit lists those extra steps under a Special Verification Requirement tab in its verification guide.
Bybit runs three individual levels and one business track, and the level you hold decides both your product access and your withdrawal ceiling.
Level | Documents required | Official review time | What it adds | Daily crypto withdrawal limit at VIP 0 |
Standard | Identity assessment and proof of identity | About 15 minutes, up to 48 hours | Access to all Bybit products and services | 1M USDT, no monthly cap |
Advanced | Proof of address dated within three months, after Standard | About 15 minutes, up to 48 hours | Bybit Card, larger Buy Crypto orders where required | 2M USDT, no monthly cap |
Pro | Enhanced due diligence | Not stated separately | Higher ceilings for high-volume individual accounts | 2M USDT at VIP 0, higher with VIP status |
Business | Corporate documents under the Business KYC process | Not stated separately | Corporate account, no Bybit Card, no card purchases | 4M USDT, no monthly cap |
No verification | None, legacy accounts only | Not applicable | Withdraw, close positions and repay loans only | 20K USDT a day and 100K USDT a month |
Data verified as of 8 September 2026 against Bybit's help center pages "FAQ, Individual KYC" (updated 20 August 2026) and "Benefits of Different Verification (KYC) Levels" (updated 30 July 2026). Limits are USDT-equivalent values and reset at 00:00 UTC.
The Standard tier is the one that matters for most people, because it is the gate to every product and it already carries a 1M USDT daily ceiling.
Advanced is only worth the extra document if you want the Bybit Card, which sits behind Advanced in the benefits table, or if a Buy Crypto order exceeds the limit at which Bybit asks for it.
Pro exists for individuals whose volume justifies enhanced due diligence, and Bybit does not publish a fixed review window for it.
VIP status changes the ceiling more than the KYC level does: VIP 1 to VIP 3 accounts can withdraw up to 8M USDT a day, VIP 4 up to 16M USDT, VIP 5 up to 24M USDT, and the Pro trading tiers run from 30M to 60M USDT.
A catch the guides we reviewed do not mention is that a VIP account's limit is still set to the 1M or 2M default in Account and Security settings, and the higher ceiling only applies after you raise it manually.
Bybit's benefits page is a long grid, and the pattern inside it is simple.
An unverified account is shut out of every product, including crypto deposits, spot, margin, bots, derivatives, copy trading, Launchpad, Buy Crypto, P2P, Convert, Earn, loans and the Rewards Hub.
Standard opens all of those.
Advanced adds exactly one product line, the Bybit Card, and it may be requested for Buy Crypto transactions above a threshold Bybit does not publish.
Business verification opens most products but excludes card and third-party payment purchases, ByVotes, Airdrop Hunt, Easy Earn fixed term, premium wealth management, the Bybit Card and Rewards Hub claims.
Direct fiat deposits and withdrawals appear in the same table with a note that only BRL and ARS are supported on that route, so most fiat activity on Bybit runs through Buy Crypto and P2P instead.
One more rule sits in the footnotes: an internal transfer is restricted if the recipient has not completed verification, so you cannot route funds to an unverified friend's account.
Most rejections come from the document, not the person, so this is the section to read before you start.
Bybit accepts a passport, identity card, residence permit or driving licence issued by your country of origin.
The document must show a photo, your name, date of birth, document number and date of issue.
Domestic passports, student visas, working visas and travel visas are not accepted.
Only physical documents are accepted, which means a scan, an e-copy or a screenshot of your ID will be rejected even if every detail is correct.
Bybit's accepted list runs to ten document types: a national ID, passport, driving licence or residence permit that shows your full residential address, utility bills, official bank statements, government-issued residential proof, internet, cable or landline bills, tax returns, council tax bills, government certificates of residence, a tenancy contract or lease of more than six months, and a bank reference letter.
Except for the identity document itself, the proof of address must be dated within the last three months.
Nine document types are rejected outright: domestic passports, mobile phone statements, insurance documents, medical bills, bank transaction slips, bank or company referral letters, handwritten invoices or receipts, border passes, and PO Box addresses for users in Hong Kong.
The mobile phone bill is the one that catches people, because it is the first document most of us reach for and it is on the rejected list.
Bybit's FAQ states that verification generally takes approximately 15 minutes and may take up to 48 hours when the information is complex.
If 48 hours pass with no result, the instruction is to submit a case through the support webform, after which the relevant team replies within one working day.
Bybit lists six reasons a verification fails, and describes the list as incomplete.
The system detects another verified account with the same ID information, because only one account per person can hold verification.
Facial recognition fails, usually because the face was not centred in the frame.
ID detection fails because of overexposure, reflection or an incomplete image.
A screenshot or scanned copy was uploaded instead of the original document.
The document type is invalid for the country selected.
The profile breaches the Terms of Service, for example an applicant under 18 or a restricted nationality.
Four of the six are fixable in a second attempt with better lighting, a physical document and a centred face.
The other two, a duplicate identity and a terms breach, are not fixable by resubmitting, and the duplicate case is solved by transferring the existing verification rather than creating a new one.
Bybit decides country restrictions by the nationality on your document, not by your current residence, which is the single most important rule for expatriates and dual nationals.
Only one account per person can hold verification, but Bybit provides a process to transfer your identity to another account if you need to move.
Sub-accounts cannot be verified, since KYC attaches to the main account only.
The name on your Advanced documents must match the name on your Standard documents exactly.
If your name displays incorrectly after approval, Bybit has a self-service correction for wrong, missing or reordered characters that takes about five minutes and can be used again only after 30 days.
Verified users can update their proof of identity and proof of address themselves, as long as the account is not a sub-account, is not suspended and is not mid-transfer.
Users in the European Economic Area are onboarded by Bybit EU and users in the United Kingdom by Bybit's UK platform, which are separate entities, so a global-platform guide may not match every screen they see.
Less than most guides suggest, and only if your account predates the mandate.
An unverified legacy account can withdraw up to 20K USDT a day and 100K USDT a month, close existing positions and repay loans.
It cannot deposit crypto, place a trade, use Buy Crypto or P2P, or claim rewards, because every one of those products requires Standard verification.
Bybit's FAQ also notes that it may require verification before approving a withdrawal request, so even the withdrawal allowance is not unconditional.
A new account cannot reach that state at all, because deposits are gated behind Standard from the start.
If you are looking for a way to trade on Bybit without identifying yourself, there is not one, and the honest advice is to complete Standard verification, which is designed to take about 15 minutes.
Several widely read pages still state that Bybit allows 2 BTC a day without verification, 50 BTC at Level 1 and 100 BTC at Level 2.
Those figures come from Bybit's earlier BTC-denominated limit schedule and do not appear anywhere on its current help center, which quotes every limit in USDT-equivalent value.
Another page states that verified users start at 100,000 USD a day, which is a tenth of the 1M USDT figure Bybit publishes for Standard.
The test for any Bybit limit you read is simple: if it is quoted in BTC, or if it claims unverified trading is possible, it predates 8 May 2023.
Searches for Bybit KYC attract impersonators, because a person mid-verification is expecting to hand over documents.
Bybit collects KYC verification documents through the Identity Verification page inside your logged-in account, on the website or in the app, and the one exception it describes is a follow-up request for additional documents on a flagged withdrawal you yourself submitted.
An unsolicited request to send your ID, selfie or proof of address by chat, Telegram, WhatsApp, social media reply or an email you did not trigger is a scam, whatever logo it carries.
Bybit's own support route for a stuck verification is a case submitted through the help center webform, which returns a case number by email.
If a message offers to speed up your verification for a fee, or asks for your login, 2FA code or fund password to "complete KYC", close it.
Since KYC friction is the reason many readers land on this page, it is fair to compare the ladder they are climbing with the one next door.
MEXC's official KYC FAQ, updated 2 June 2026, sets out two individual levels, Primary and Advanced, and no separate Pro tier.
Dimension | Bybit | MEXC |
Individual levels | Standard, Advanced, Pro | Primary, Advanced |
Official review time | About 15 minutes, up to 48 hours | About 15 minutes, some cases 8 to 24 hours |
Entry-level daily crypto withdrawal limit | 1M USDT at Standard | 80 BTC at Primary |
Top individual level limit | 2M USDT at Advanced or Pro, higher with VIP | 200 BTC at Advanced |
Fiat access | Buy Crypto and P2P from Standard, Card from Advanced | P2P at Primary, 20,000 USD a day of fiat at Advanced |
Accounts one identity can verify | One, transferable | Up to two |
Daily verification attempts | Not stated | Three per level |
Using the platform without KYC | Withdraw, close and repay only, legacy accounts | Deposits, withdrawals and trading may be restricted depending on region |
Data verified as of 8 September 2026 against Bybit's help center pages "FAQ, Individual KYC" (updated 20 August 2026) and "Benefits of Different Verification (KYC) Levels" (updated 30 July 2026), and MEXC's support page "MEXC KYC FAQ" (updated 2 June 2026).
The two ladders start at the same place, since both platforms quote a typical review of about 15 minutes, but they end differently.
Bybit's ceilings are quoted in USDT and stay fixed in dollar terms, while MEXC's are quoted in BTC, so MEXC's 80 BTC and 200 BTC ceilings rise and fall with the Bitcoin price.
MEXC allows one identity to verify up to two accounts, against one on Bybit, which matters for traders who run a second account for a separate strategy.
MEXC's Primary level already opens spot and futures trading, unlimited crypto deposits and P2P, which is the same core access Bybit's Standard tier gives, with the ceiling denominated in BTC instead of USDT.
On the question that drives most searches, MEXC's current FAQ does not publish a no-KYC withdrawal allowance and states that unverified access to deposits, withdrawals and trading depends on your region, so any older figure you have seen for MEXC deserves the same scepticism as Bybit's BTC-era numbers.
MEXC's official KYC FAQ is the page to check for the current position, and it also explains the return and appeal routes for funds that land in an unverified account. If your decision comes down to which ladder fits your document situation and your region, compare the two tiers side by side before you upload anything.
We work for MEXC, and this section is where we say what we think rather than what the tables say.
On the ladder itself, MEXC's two-level structure and two-accounts-per-identity rule make it the lighter climb for an individual trader, and its Primary level opens the same core products that Bybit's Standard does.
Here is where Bybit is ahead.
Bybit publishes a complete list of accepted and rejected documents, a 48-hour ceiling, and a one-working-day support response, while MEXC's KYC FAQ lists review times and attempt limits but not a document list, so a Bybit applicant knows more before uploading.
Bybit offers a formal process to transfer verification between accounts, and it runs separate onboarding entities for the European Economic Area and the United Kingdom, neither of which MEXC serves.
Bybit's nationality rule is strict, but it is written down, whereas MEXC tells unverified users to follow on-screen prompts, which is less predictable.
If you want the most transparent verification rulebook, Bybit's help center is the better-documented one today.
If you want a two-step ladder with a BTC-denominated ceiling and room for a second account, and your region is served, MEXC is the one to look at, and our full MEXC vs Bybit comparison covers the fees, listings and security that sit on the other side of the KYC gate.
Anyone who wants to use any Bybit product should complete Standard verification, because there is no product behind the gate that opens without it.
A trader who wants the Bybit Card, or who buys crypto by card in larger amounts, should go straight to Advanced and prepare a proof of address dated within three months.
A high-volume individual whose withdrawals will exceed 2M USDT a day should expect a VIP-based ceiling and remember to raise the default limit manually after approval.
A person whose nationality is on Bybit's restricted list should not attempt verification, since the rule follows the passport and a rejection under the Terms of Service cannot be appealed with a different document.
A person who cannot produce a physical identity document, or whose only proof of address is a mobile phone bill, will be rejected and should prepare an accepted document first.
Bybit's Service Agreement excludes the United States, Canada, Mainland China, Hong Kong and Singapore among its listed jurisdictions, and its verification checks nationality rather than location.
United Kingdom users are served through a UK-specific platform offering spot and peer-to-peer trading, and European Economic Area users through Bybit EU.
Bybit closed its Japan service in 2026, with positions force-closed on 22 July 2026.
MEXC does not serve the United States, the United Kingdom or Canada, and it stopped serving the European Economic Area after the MiCA transition deadline of 1 July 2026.
Does Bybit require KYC?
Yes, Standard identity verification has been mandatory for every Bybit product and service since 8 May 2023.
Unverified legacy accounts can only close positions, repay loans and withdraw.
Can I use Bybit without KYC?
Only to withdraw up to 20K USDT a day and 100K USDT a month, and only on an account that predates the mandate.
Deposits, trading, Buy Crypto, P2P and Earn all require Standard verification.
What documents do I need for Bybit KYC?
Standard needs a physical passport, ID card, residence permit or driving licence issued by your country of origin, plus an identity assessment.
Advanced adds a proof of address dated within three months, such as a utility bill or bank statement.
How long does Bybit KYC take?
Bybit's help center states about 15 minutes in normal cases and up to 48 hours for complex ones.
After 48 hours, submit a support case and expect a reply within one working day.
What is the difference between Bybit Standard and Advanced verification?
Standard unlocks every product with a 1M USDT daily withdrawal limit.
Advanced adds proof of address, raises the limit to 2M USDT and unlocks the Bybit Card.
Why did my Bybit KYC fail?
Bybit's six listed reasons are a duplicate identity, a failed face scan, an unreadable ID, a scanned or screenshot copy, an invalid document type, or a Terms of Service breach.
The first four are fixed by resubmitting correctly.
Can I verify a Bybit sub-account or a second account?
No, sub-accounts cannot be verified and only one account per person can hold verification.
Bybit provides a process to transfer your verification to another account instead.
Does Bybit KYC go by nationality or residence?
Nationality, per Bybit's FAQ, which states that restrictions are based on the trader's nationality and not their current place of residence.
Expatriates from restricted countries are therefore excluded wherever they live.
Is the 2 BTC withdrawal limit without KYC still true?
No, that figure comes from Bybit's earlier BTC-denominated schedule.
The current help center quotes 20K USDT a day for unverified legacy accounts and 1M USDT a day at Standard.
Verification rules, document lists and limits change without notice, and Bybit's help center pages carry their own update dates for that reason.
Attempting to bypass identity verification, or verifying with someone else's documents, breaches both platforms' terms and can lead to frozen funds.
MEXC is not licensed under MiCA and does not serve residents of the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada or the European Economic Area, and it appears on regulator notices in Japan, the Netherlands and Dubai.
Our methodology for verifying exchange data, including which sources we accept and how we date them, is published in our guide to how we verify exchange data. Nothing here is legal or financial advice, and the verification screen inside your own account is the final word on what applies to you.